Topic: Shooting animation in RAW vs Jpeg

I've been wondering...is it worth it to be shooting in RAW format rather than JPEG? I'm not an expert (and this is why I'm posting here), but from what I've heard RAW is completely uncompressed and is pretty much standard in the feature film world of stop motion. I've always been shooting in JPEG and the results are still sufficient from what I can see, but should I make the switch to shooting in RAW? Also, I would prefer the best results possible, so would shooting in JPEGs as long as they're the right resolution be sufficient in a film festival screening or comparable to film quality or something like that, versus shooting RAW?

Re: Shooting animation in RAW vs Jpeg

Shoot raw, if you have the right software. Some software can't handle raw files. I shoot in raw and then bring it into Camera Raw 8, and save as a TIFF with an .xmp file, the bring this into AE. When you shoot raw, you have control over your colors, clarity and highlight, whites, blacks, and more. JPEG It's like baking a cake, all the image info is baked in, you can't really change it. RAW is a loose batter where you can keep re-baking your batter.

Twitter | Instagram | YouTube Channel | Tumblr | My Weekly Film Podcast!
"For I am NOT ashamed of the Gospel of Christ" - Romans 1:16

Shooting RAW is a lot more time consuming, but after you finish it gives you a lot more room to play with as far as your image color goes. In my current film Beyond the Eleventh Dimension I started shooting in all RAW but switched to Jpeg at the end due to time issues. The footage cuts together well enough and I don't think anyone will notice in the final movie, but if you do have a very colorful film and want to get the most out of your images RAW is the way to do that.

(In the trailer I linked a lot of the early shots like the room with the alarm and the war room were shot raw while the oil rig style lair was shot in jepg)