Topic: Best DSLR camera?

https://www.youtube.com/user/chalksters55

Ok, so, I've been animating for five years now and I've used multiple cameras.  I started on a Nikon coolpix (don't remember the model) and that was when I was a younger kid and my animations were bad, like most of ours when we first started.  I moved up to a Quickcam Pro 9000 in 2011 as webcams were very popular back then.  However, as more and more brickfilmers start to use DSLR cameras for improved quality, I feel like I am falling behind. I also animate on an older desktop computer, and I hate it.  I would like to start animating on my MacBook Pro.  So, I have been debating on wether to buy a DSLR camera or just stick with my QC9000 (PC version) or maybe even buy a new webcam compatible with my Mac?  If I decide to buy a new DSLR, what is a good DSLR camera for brick filming for under $600 that comes with a live mode?  As you may have noticed, my knowledge in DSLR cameras is not very deep! Thanks!

Re: Best DSLR camera?

Making the jump to a DSLR is an expensive jump. There are hidden costs that go beyond the cost of the camera. You need software that works with DSLRs most likely Dragonframe. You can go without it but it makes animating a pain. You would also have to get an AC power adapter. I would get a refurbished Canon T3i if you are trying to get a decent camera as inexpensively as possible. Canon cameras are currently the best for stop motion and the Rebel series hasn't changed at all since the T2i. I would get the T3i over the T2i because it has the pop out screen. So in total the total cost of a DSLR for stop motion is somewhere around $1000.