Topic: Do you use Onion-skinning?

I recently visited another stop-motion forum (not LEGO, though), and some of the people there are really good at animation, but apparently, a lot of the 'pros' don't use onion-skinning; instead they go back and forth between frames. Some of the people have been animating since the 80's and earlier. mini/eek

Personally, I find onion-skinning very helpful. Do you use onion-skinning?

Re: Do you use Onion-skinning?

I used it back when I had Anasazi as my frame-capture program, (Not that it helped my early films any. mini/eh ) but MonkeyJam doesn't have it. And to tell the truth, while it was useful, I don't miss it that much. Going back and forth between the frames works just as well.

I am still learning atm to do brick films and personally i find onion skinning very helpful, but at the moment i only have monkey jam but onion skinning is definitely recommended for people starting off.

Moderator Notice: This user has been banned for mass vandalism of the Brikifilms wiki.]
"You don't know what you have till you lose it, but then when you realize it, it's probably to late.."
Working on a better community
Proverbs 26:21

Sometimes i do mini/smile

I use onion-skinning. I like using it because it also shows me where the tiny bumps are.

I only use Onion-skinning when I bump things and need to put them back. Other then that I normally just go back and forth between frames and use Dragon's playback feature.

I don't because I can't.

No animation software for me!

It sounds ridiculously useful, though. But you can still make pretty great animations without it.

I don't use it. I just use the Epson capture software, which doesn't have that option. But... I don't really mind.

Huh, I was just talking about onionskinning in chat yesterday (I brought it up).

I use it, and I use it for:

1. Camera/Set/Prop/Character bump correction.